Calcium in Complex Subject :-)

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ben Belton

Reaction score
I'm a Phal person who is dipping their toe into Paphs. I've been saying that for a few years, but it's still true and will be awhile.

I love complex Paphs and have been told many times, A couple times a year just sprinkle a few bits of lime on top or the media because they need extra calcium. Well at the slipper symposium I learned this isn't enough calcium. How do I get extra calcium into my complex Paphs without buying a 50lb bag of crushed coral or something like that? Right now I have some lime dissolving in water and was going to add it to my regular watering. Will that work?

Perhaps Ray will chime in on this subject. He knows far more than I do, but
I've been doing quite well with K-Lite for over a year and all my plants are
doing very well.

Klite is more or less hydroponic fertilizer with higher Ca and low K and P. So it has more than enough Ca for any plant. However, some maintain that Ca in its carbonate form is needed (or at least beneficial) This can come from your water or lime added but you need to watch your pH.
You're are probably opening up a fresh can of worms here, but if you listen to what I say and competely disregard all other comments you'll be ok :rollhappy:
Actually Ca. can be supplied from many different sources..Bone meal for example. Often just plain tap water has enough.
The sprinkling of lime twice a year is still practiced by many growers but more for bringing the pH up again after using much ammonium or Urea in the feed which acidifies the media. Paphs generally don't need more Ca than any other plant but it doesn't hurt to give a bit extra.

.... How do I get extra calcium into my complex Paphs without buying a 50lb bag of crushed coral or something like that? ...