Cypripedium formosanum: container culture? Zone 7a.

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Georgie

Reaction score
Hello,

This is my first time posting on this forum - and also the first day of membership! So this is half/half a introduction and question really. I have a decent understanding of the culture of tropical orchids, such as Paphs, Phrags, Phals, and a few other genera, and have also grown Pleiones succesfully. I have recently been bit by the garden orchid/hardy orchid bug and would like to dip my toes into this side of the hobby, and particularly the genera Cypripedium! I´m a bit hesitant however about where to start. I have a relatively small garden which doesn´t really have any good spot to plant Cypripediums directly in the ground, so against better judgement I want to grow Cypripediums in containers. I live in in Stockholm, Sweden with a climate zone that corresponds roughly to USDA zone 7a.