Phragmipedium rocquier

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MaxC

Reaction score
Phrag rocquier Eric Young 4N x Nicholle Tower. This is a first bloom on a plant I purchased in bloom. Much better coloring on second bloom. My question is if the smaller size of second bloom is related to it being the plant unable to support the second bloom or if because of cooler temperatures than in a professional green house and forced the flower to pop earlier?

I have a paph Dollgoldi that is doing the same thing with it's blooms, 2nd being more intensely colored and smaller, but is a larger plant with 4 mature growths and 3 new growths.

Attachments

• 20200201_153925.jpg
    20200201_153925.jpg
    133.6 KB · Views: 33
Last edited:
I'm no expert in this arena, but it seems to me you have clashing drivers:

Better color development, especially red, occurs with cooler, brighter conditions, but cooler conditions may slow bud growth.

It could also be because the plant is small and supporting two blooms is beyond it’s resources. When phrags mature, say three full sized growths, they can support many more and bigger blooms on the same stem.
How

I'm no expert in this arena, but it seems to me you have clashing drivers:

Better color development, especially red, occurs with cooler, brighter conditions, but cooler conditions may slow bud growth.

I
Would you show us a photo of the whole plant
please?

First bloom fell off today, only the one growth. A third bud is coming.

Attachments

• 20200201_230304.jpg
    20200201_230304.jpg
    89.5 KB · Views: 18
I like the color, but I’m not sure about the curling on the petals. Phrags are funny though. As David mentions, the flowers seem to generally improve on larger and more vigorous plants.