Oyster shells?

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
J

jrfehon

Greetings! I just joined the forum and I've been growing orchids for about 3 years now so still beginning. I have 11 phrags including kovachii, besseae, and some caudatums. I also have around 20 paphs. I've read that kovachii and its hybrids need oyster shells but are there any other phrags/paphs that benefit from the shells? Any help would be great!

-Jason

hi
welcome to the forum!
a quick search for "oyster shell" will give you lots of info

I was told by an experienced grower to add dried egg shells to your mix?
Crazy?...Smelly?... for sure!

I put them in my irrigation water and they dissolve over time. No smell
My wife would store piles of rinsed off egg shells on the kitchen counter to dry.

No smell.

We pound them up and throw them in the garden, but I haven't used them in the GH with orchids (I have too many other pH buffer projects going on to add another variable).

I was told by an experienced grower to add dried egg shells to your mix?
Crazy?...Smelly?... for sure!
Not at all! I let them dry, grind them up in the food processor, sprinkle them on the chids & in the garden!

Welcome to the forum- you came to the right place. I've been growing orchids for almost 3 years (3 yrs next month), and found this forum to be a gold mine of orchid info. Lots of expert growers here that are passionate about the hobby and very helpful to us newer growers. Feel free to ask about anything you need. The archives are also a great source of info. Beware that you will be tempted by the beautiful orchids you see here, and our vendors' sales. We're all addicted and great enablers!:)

Welcome Jason,