Orchid growing in 'Darkest Africa'

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Trithor

Chico (..... the clown)
Reaction score
I live in the Northern suburbs (Sandton) of Johannesburg, South Africa. I first started growing orchids when I was a medical student 25 years ago. Unfortunately work preassure forced me to give up what had rapidly become a passionate obsession. It was only after I changed my profession from MD to carpenter a few years ago, that I found I had the time to take up orchid growing again (at least now I can build my own benches and greenhouse!). I grow Paphs almost exclusively, using other orchids such as dendrobes and cats to provide shading for the Paphs below (not the most ideal situation I know, but my current greenhouse was not originaly intended for its current use, so I am unable to get above the polycarb roof to add any other form of shade). I have number of Gouldian finches in my greenhouse which were originally added to provide some interest on drab days. Again not such a great idea as it turns out, because they tend to collect seedlings to use as nesting material.
I started to read the posts on Slippertalk some months ago in the hope of learning how to correct my poor cultural practices. I joined arround a week ago to get greater access. I now realise exactly how little I know about Paphs and how to grow them correctly. It may take a while before I am brave enough to post a picture or two (no one likes to look too foolish), ...... so all the Paph afficionados out there, please dont laugh too loud, I am ready and willing to learn. :(

greetings from upstate ny, usa (snow)! don't worry, there are lots of others here who haven't been bitten by the slipper bug and enjoy many other normal orchids. wondering why you changed from medical to carpentry?