New Cypripedium Hybrids for 2009

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Paul Perakos and I have been hybridizing Cypripedium since the 2004 season and this year we have first blooms to show. Each of these has been submitted for registration to the RHS. So far Memoria Charles Frail Jr and Anna Marie have been accepted and are on the RHS website.

Cyp GPH Memoria Charles Frail Jr is a cross of Cyp pubescens x Cyp macranthos alba

Cyp GPH Memoria Charles Frail Jr.jpg

Cyp GPH Anna Marie is a cross of Cyp henryi x Cyp flavum. We have a number of these blooming and they are all identical in appearance.

Cyp GPH Anna Marie.jpg

Cyp Marika is a cross of Cyp candidum x Cyp Aki. Paul's very first artificial pollenation - it will be difficult to beat it!

Cyp Marika D.jpg

Cyp GPH Barbara is a cross of Cyp Favillianum x Cyp fasciolatum. This is a very large, robust plant with large flower - two stems, each with a flower in its first blooming season.

Cyp GPH Barbara.jpg

Cyp GPH Charles is a cross of Cyp henryi x Cyp montanum. A tiny flower on a plant of candidum size.

Cyp GPH Charles.jpg

We have a couple of additional hybrids in bud.....

Ron

As at least a step-parent to all of them I will say that I like them all. We do have another blooming hybrid that we havent named yet since, to put it as Paul said, "Who do we not like - we can name it after them!" Actually, it looks nicer than many hybrids I have seen but compared to Anna Marie, Marika and Barbara, it is a poor relation! I will put up another new hybrid photo in another post - it is by Werner Frosch and is blooming now for the first time for me. It shares fasciolatum as a parent with Barbara and it is also huge and bold. Unfortunately, it was insect-pollenated so Werner does not know the other parent. Perhaps folks can guess at it when they see the photo.

Ron