General Beginner Neofinetia Questions

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
P

Papaholic

Greetings members!
This is officially my first forum posting and go figure it's not even a question about Paphs [ my first passion] but rather Neofinetias.

I purchased my first Neos and then several thoughts occurred to me afterwards. Hence, my questions here, since I am still learning the ropes with them.

1) Do Neofinetias lose their bottom leaves as they throw out new ones (the same way Paphs do)?
2) I purchased a Seikai ( or alternate spelling Sekai) on ebay for a steal and know they were small but what would exactly constitute a full sized mature growth leaf-span be?
mine is probably a whopping 1" main growth with a small baby growth to the side.
3) Are there average leaf spans for various Neofinetia varieties that can be used as a benchmark to determine when they are considered blooming sized? For example, I know that when my Prince Edward of York hits 26-28" LS it can throw that 2nd growth (which I am waiting for) at any time and be "blooming sized".
What would be considered as such (Leaf Spans) for Benisuzume, Koukakuden, Seikai, and Shutennou? These are of course the ones I now own.
Last question, once a small growth is spotted emerging from a larger growth or at the base of one, does it take about a year to mature like paphs or longer?
Any additional tid-bits of information fellow forum members may have in the way of Neofinetias would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks fellow members for entertaining my long winded questions.
Papaholic

Welcome Papaholic! :) (HaHA :rollhappy: Hi Dot! I was typing :p )