question about cymbidium

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aaron888

Reaction score
I purchased my first cymbidium street of Gold "Mana" I have no experience with cymbidiums but my question is about the plant I received. When I ordered it the description was "blooming size" So I was kind of expecting a rather large plant but what I received was a single growth that is 15" tall with a pseudobulb the size of a quarter. If that is blooming size than fine, but every cymbidium I have ever seen are rather large plants and it's hard to imagine this plant blooming anytime this year or even in the next couple of years unless it REALLY jumps in size. Any info would be appreciated.

That’s not true. You can have the rather large standard Cymbidiums and the smaller compact Cymbidiums. You can get plants in between the two.
If you purchased a standard Cymbidium, it is rather bold of the vendor, to claim it is blooming size. However if a mature tennis ball sized bulb produces a new growth, with good culture, it could bloom. These plants grow to be quite large quite rapidly!!
Compact types just grow to a smaller size.

First: I can't absolutely tell you with authority whether or not your plant is blooming size.