Catasetum or Cycnoches????

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
B

biothanasis

Hello,

Could someone tell me how to tell if a plant is a Catasetum or a Cycnoches if there are no flowers??? I have resently purchased one plant of each genus! I was not here when they arrived, so my girlfriend treated them and she forgot to put tags on them!!! Shall I have to wait till they bloom??? Is there any differential characteristic??? Thank you in advance!!!

I have a Cycnoches, but not a Catasetum, so I'm not sure what to tell you. I'm pretty new to this part of the orchid world. I'm sure someone will help out soon. :D I would like to know also.

Not sure if this is gonna help you, but this is a photo of my one and only Cychnodes.

IMG_2640-1.jpg

I don't have a Catasetum, so no help there.

Best Regards,
Nik

I don't know, either. I can't tell the difference. If no one here knows, contact Fred Clarke at Sunset Valley Orchids.

I think the basic/general plant habit is the same with deciduous leaves on top of a big, kind of rough pseudo bulb. There may be special plant habits for particular species that may help identify them (maybe overall size or leaf shape if they are still in leaf). Some species may not even be deciduous, and that might help.

Do you know what species you are supposed to have?

Thanasis, in the book 'the world of catasetums' by A. Holst, I almost found no hint allowing to differenciate the 2, except that for cycnoches the flower spike are generally issued higher on the pseudo bulb (upper half), whereas for catasetums 'where inflorescences are produced from the first, second, or third ring above the base ot the pseudobulb, occ. higher, rarely even above the middle (as in the genus Cycnoches)'!

:). maybe there are rests of old spikes on your plants' bulbs :)

Jean