Paphiopedilum delenatii albescent?!

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I have never seen one before that I can remember.
Overall it features two flowers, they both have different issues. I don’t know how I would have scored it.
One flower has a twisted or misaligned petal. It’s dorsal is not as nice as the one on the first flower. That first flower also has a slight form issue due to nudging to the left of the pouch. Perhaps they are minor points but you have to have been there to see how every one else felt.
Coloring is unusual for sure, very attractive, but I can’t say for certain under this format whether I would have awarded it.sometimes you just have to be there.

I have to ask, do you think it the pure species?
Maybe it’s just me and goodness knows, I’m no paph expert but my first impression of the outline of the bloom said hybrid.
At first we thought so too. But we did full research on all possible hybrids to rule this out and then examine the staminode carefully. All pointed to delenatii.

Even after this, I consulted with several Paph experts and delenatii growers, and without exception, all agreed it was delenatii based on staminode and leaf structure/pattern (some even said that they have seen this color variation before long ago).

So I’m relieved that it was almost beyond a reasonable doubt that it can pass the eyes of the most Paph experts.

I will consult with a few more Paph experts as well and report back.

Last edited:
I have never seen one before that I can remember.
Overall it features two flowers, they both have different issues. I don’t know how I would have scored it.