Hello from Newfoundland- curious about root buds on stem

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

snowberry

Reaction score
Hi folks,
I am new to orchid growing, I have a small collection including 2 lady slippers that are still alive after one year. One now has had a stem, which shot up over the winter. The variety is Paphiopedilum lawrenceanum var coloratum x anne HCC AOS [I still am learning what this means!] At the top of the stem but below where the bud would form are what seem to be the beginning of root projections. Is this normal? When a stem shoots up is this

Could someone advise me if this is a good thing and if I am actually going to get a flower.

Thanks so much

snowberry

Welcome, Snowberry (nice name!), to our forum! Glad you found us!
That's a pretty nice paph if it's one of only two so far!
I second what likespaphs said: we really need a snapshot to tell you what's going on. Doesn't sound like usual paph behavior, if roots are extending far up a stalk.

Welcome from Orlando!

I have never seen slippers put out roots from a flower stem (like phals etc can). Would love to see a photo. There's probably a very reasonable explanation.

WELCOME to ST snowberry! I'm from the midwest, USA, where are you located?
Is it a flower stem? Sounds like it's a shady plant climbing out of the litter of the forest floor! Could be saying repot me!

Welcome to Slippertalk, Snowberry!

I agree with the others, please post a photo -- it's hard to visualize exactly what is happening with your plant.

Welcome to the Forum. I am interested to hear from members who live in or near the arctic circle. I used to know some one in Alaska who told me that although it is cold there, the humidity is very low. Could get down to 8%. And this needs a very special treatment and care