Best of all worlds - recommended Paphs for beginners? (Esp mottled-leaved ones.)

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
D

Delilah

Hi

I'm new to Paphs - so new that I don't have one yet! I have several other orchid species...have killed a few, survived a few...so have a bit of experience and basic knowledge. Now I want to add a Paph or two...

Which types do you think offer the most to the beginner, meaning likely to survive, likely to flower, and pretty/striking? I am especially keen on the ones with very defined mottling on their leaves, which look beautiful even when not in flower.

My climate is warm-temperate. They will be grown indoors by an East-facing window with fly screen and other plants to create the appropriate amount of shade.

Glad your jumping in. (Slippers are more rewarding than milts.. Just kidding :))

Parvi:
delenatii
armeniacum

Barbata:
wardii
sukhakulii
acmodontum
venustum?

are the easiest!

I am kinda new to Paphs myself, but I can give you a few tips based on what I have seen in the past year. Any of the Green Maudiae type hybrids grow like weeds. I potted out a flask of Hilo Super Green x sib that almost seems to get bigger every day. Brachy hybrids have nice looking mottled leaves, but are slower and in my opinion a little more difficult to grow and flower.

some of the albums are easier to grow than their color counterparts..venustum, wardii, sukhakulii, delenatii and are pretty cheap nowadays

As a beginner, you are probably best to start off with any of the Maudiae type hybrids. They have beautifully mottled leaves and are very hardy. Ideal for growing inside the house. The Barbata species can be challenging even for the best of us.