physiological problem?

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Paul

Reaction score
Hello,

Here is a paph philippinense (supposed to be a seedgrown palawanense) that is growing fast and furious, but never bloomed... I have tried everything but no bud. I've been growing it for more than 3 years now (bought as a FS plant)

P1030461.JPG

Have you ever seen such problem on that species and is there an explanation?

thank you. :)

Yes - I've heard of this syndrome -
Probably Not a Blooming Size plant at time of purchase Syndrome.
Be patient - it looks great!

Yes! The plant is obviously happy in your care, so it may not feel the need to reproduce. I agree with Goldenrose. Be patient! And maybe buy another one that's more floriferous. I have a big masdevallia ignea that I bought years ago and it has never flowered and another one a third of the size right beside it that has flowered at least five times in the last 18 months.

Your plant looks great, it most likely just needs time. Threaten it, it will bloom.

I'm just an orchid newbie, but your statement may have more merit than you think. I have always believed that it is only Darwin logic that plants respond by flowering to assure the species is maintained when they sense their life is threatened by drought, cold, or other adverse sense of pending death during their life cycle. Maybe it is just too comfortable living with you....:p

I'm just an orchid newbie, but your statement may have more merit than you think. I have always believed that it is only Darwin logic that plants respond by flowering to assure the species is maintained when they sense their life is threatened by drought, cold, or other adverse sense of pending death during their life cycle. Maybe it is just too comfortable living with you....:p