Phrag won't rebloom

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

phrag_girl_WI

Reaction score
Hey all - I'm new here but not new to phrags. I've been growing for +/- 6 years now and have had orchids for +10 yrs. Most of what I have has rebloomed for me and I have around 100 orchids total.

I have a large phrag Chuck Acker that refuses to rebloom for me. Its getting slightly less light that catts and has gorgeous huge growth (this plant is seriously huge). It is not growing standing in water but is watered twice weekly and fertilized weekly.

It hates me. I bought it in bloom 2 years ago and it just won't rebloom. It has 3 large new growths that are blooming size, new growth emerging and is about 4" tall. The plant itself has 8-9 large growths. I'm hoping among hopes its getting ready for flowering now but am not holding out too much hope.

Conditions are:

Winter: south facing exposure with light shading (a sheer curtain); daytime temps 75-80 (when sunny) and night temps around 65. watered as above. In the summer, it lives outside under shade cloth, watered more often, fert weekly. It grows like a weed but never flowers :(

SADNESS!!!

DSC06374sm1.jpg

Scare the living daylight out of the plant. Change something in the frequency of watering or feeding. Give it some cooler temps. More light, especially in winter. It would be helpful to know approximately where you live. Good luck, and if all else fails, I'll be glad to take it if you live in Canada.

Scare the living daylight out of the plant. Change something in the frequency of watering or feeding. Give it some cooler temps. More light, especially in winter. It would be helpful to know approximately where you live. Good luck, and if all else fails, I'll be glad to take it if you live in Canada.