New growth on phrag besseae elongating?

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xiphius

Reaction score
A couple weeks back, I posted a thread about the new growth on my phrag besseae. It has been coming along nicely (actually growing very fast!); but seems to be elongating straight up! I have heard that besseae has a tendency to "walk" with it's growths, but I had always thought that meant horizontal stolons. This seems much more vertical:

bessgrowth.jpg

I am pretty new to phrags. So... is this normal for besseae? Will it eventually curve back down? Or is this indicative of something I should be trying to correct?

It gets quite a bit of light, so I wouldn't think that would be the problem...

Thanks! Guess I'm just not used to the growth pattern yet. My micranthum produces runners, but they stay right along the surface. The last time I saw a growth elongate up like that, it was a paph that I had accidentally blocked from the light source. It was climbing out of the pot as a means of survival trying to get back to the light :p. I waited for it to start producing aerial roots then cut it off and potted it up separately. Shortly after I fixed it, the plant started putting out "normal" growths again.

Hopefully this guys eventually bends back down to the moss.

Unfortunately, besseae has a vertically stolonous growth habit. You will have to put something next to the growth for aerial roots to attach to.

Unfortunately, besseae has a vertically stolonous growth habit. You will have to put something next to the growth for aerial roots to attach to.

Well, nuts. All of the pictures I have seen of multi-growth besseaes seem to show them growing happily (and mostly horizontally) in regular pots. I wasn't planning on super vertical growth.