Need help with my water line

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Candace

Reaction score
What should I do next? I've run plenty of PVC water line. I have lots of experience with broken irrigation pipes, running new lines off of existing etc. But this, I've never done before. Here's the line I need to run my new g.h. water line off of. It's a "live" line meaning I have to turn it off before messing with it. It's a grey material, that's different than any I've worked with. I guess it's for water lines that are under higher pressure? So 1. Do I have to T off of it with the same kind of pipe and not PVC? 2. What is this pipe called? I guess I will take my picture of this to Home Depot, but if someone could give me a few starters so I don't look like a complete dumb-dumb. I'd appreciate it. I've had enough dumb moments this week. Now I'm stuck and I don't know how to proceed.

Thanks much!

img5838.jpg

I'm just not sure if it's pvc. I've got grey electrical conduit in my g.h. and it's a much lighter color. I almost think this is metal pipe? I don't know for sure. Maybe I'll try scraping it with something or lightly tapping it to see if its PVC or metal. Or really try cleaning it off to see if I can find some stamps on it.

it looks like grey pvc that we have in some of our greenhouses at work. if you are going to be in a sunlit environment usually you have to have the darker pvc because it resists weathering by UV; the white stuff doesn't and will crack. it glues the same as the white, like lance mentioned. sometimes there are higher pressure water lines that are grey as well, not just to be sunlight resistant; you would just have to read the print on the side to see if it was standard drain/drinking water pipe, high pressure or what...