Michael Koopowitz petals

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

carrilloenglish

Reaction score
Hello all,

I have a pretty decent MK in bloom right now with three flowers -- it's a first bloom seedling. The problem is that the upper ends of the petals dried out very very fast. I grow in a greehouse with humidity never less than 55% and daily temps of 62 at night and higher in the day. The plant isn't by the heater either.

Did I fail to water the plant enough? Could it be the petals getting stuck to the sides of the plastic pot after watering that some how dried them out?

They dried out during the first week or so of being in bloom. This is my first time blooming MK so I still need to learn the tricks.

Thanks,

Christian
central NJ

The same problem happened with mine and my conditions sound much like yours. Others will probably know better than me but I think the flowers in MK may not be that long lasting. I've never flowered a sanderianum but I've read the flowers do not last long in this species. And from experience phillipinense flowers have the shortest life of the multis I have flowered. In fact the first flowers are generally wilting before the final flowers open. This suggests the flowers in MK would not last long either.

But still you would think you could get more than a week out of the petals. I'll be interested in what others think. Maybe there is a way in stopping the petals drying out so fast.

David

My gut it stilling me the problem is part cultural and part genetics of the parents. But, I am sure there are tricks & tips to extend their live.

Christian

Can you be a bit more definitive on what upper ends are? An inch above the end of the petal?