Is it OK to use Ratan for pots

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
L

lady slipper

I recently potted up three orchids in ratan baskets thinking they would have
really good air circulation to the medium...now I wonder if this is safe? Does
ratan have natural salt in or anything harmful to the orchid? Anyone who has experience with ratan used as a pot or container for growing orchids, I'd love to hear about your experiences here. Thank you.

PHRAGMAN

i have no experience and can't answer.
i am wondering, however, if the ratan would rot or otherwise degrade from being moist

Ratan revisited

i have no experience and can't answer.
i am wondering, however, if the ratan would rot or otherwise degrade from being moist

I used the ratan basket in this case on some seedlings so I figured by the time the ratan rotted down the plant would need to be moved on and or repotted anyway? The stuff does seem to take a lot of moisture contact so thought it might be strong enough? I guess time will tell.
Phrag-man

If you save the net bags onions come in, perhaps you could slip the mesh net over the rattan basket in case it doesn't hold up too well-- just as a safeguard so you don't have the plant sitting in a jumble on the floor some day.:)

Ratan as potting container cont.

If you save the net bags onions come in, perhaps you could slip the mesh net over the rattan basket in case it doesn't hold up too well-- just as a safeguard so you don't have the plant sitting in a jumble on the floor some day.:)