Do you think this is an alba?

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
B

bcostello

This is labelled Catasetum Ten Dragons. I bought this plant as a seedling from Fred Clarke when he visited our society's meeting in Sept 2006. This is the first blooming. It looks nothing like a Ten Dragons.

My camera had a terrible time getting a good pic.

IMG_3703.jpg

IMG_3666.jpg

Don't they have two different colors depend on wether they are female or male flowers?

Yes, male and female flowers will give you different coloration. Usually the female flowers can be much plainer. I'm not a catasetum expert but it looks like these are male flowers and should be the most colored form. You can shoot a picture to Fred as I'm sure he'll tell you for sure. But, to me it looks like it may be an alba.

I would say it is an alba.
I collected some species like this in Peru. Some plants bloom always without red pigment whether it is male or female flowers. The female flowers have the lip that looks like a pouch.

I would say it is an alba.
I collected some species like this in Peru. Some plants bloom always without red pigment whether it is male or female flowers. The female flowers have the lip that looks like a pouch.

I only have one Catesetum, and I have only made a cursory look at the picture books for this genus, but I think these are female flowers (which have a cup or pouch, and which often faces down) which tend to be much greener than their male counterparts. But there are often colored highlights to allot of female flowers too. This could be an alba.

Those are male flowers. The pouch on the female is like the pouch on a slipper, but upside down. You can also see the pollen caps and triggers that will send the pollen flying at the slightest touch.

Here is a female flower
GWO-130a.jpg