Cats and plants

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
C

cdub

I'm thinkin of adopting a cat and wanted to know if any of you know of any houseplants or orchids that are dangerous to munch on. My lowest grow shelves for paph and phals are just inches from the floor. I would move my most prized up of course in case any munching does go on. I also have the typical spider plant and aloe plants, christmas cactus, etc. I know things in the lily family can be pretty toxic, but I was unsure of others.

I do not believe orchids are poisonous generally. Serveral cultures eat them. In the past several pet birds ate some phal and cattleya leaves without getting sick, and they enjoyed nibbling on them unfortunately. I heard cypripediums are the more dangerous ones, but I have no experience, I just got my first one recently. I believe cyp reginae can cause rashes in some people, and people should keep thier dogs away from them

Great CFA website. I guess I could have found that on my own, I just thought someone might have some personal orchid experience. Guess I'll have to make sure my aloes don't get nibbled on. Thanks smartie!!

On a side note about the aloe, I came home the other night and saw a big "arm" of my largest aloe plant had been sliced off at the base. My soon-to-be wife was in the kitchen applying the leaf juice to a burn on her arm. I told her that next time she needed some aloe, to go across the street to Walgreens, not lop of a stalk of my aloe plant!

dude! i always lop off leaves. maybe you just need a second aloe, one to be used medicinally....
Cyp reginae is also called nerve root as it causes dermititis in some people...

Lettuce leaves work great on burns. Keep the leaf (the darker the better) on the burn site until it gets warm, then change the leaf. Just a little info on behalf of your aloe. ;)