BEWARE!!!! This is a rant on the orchid business

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gcroz

2yr HCC Awarded Stud
Supporting Member
Reaction score
READ NO FURTHER IF YOU HAVE A SENSITIVE NATURE

Alright, this will be my first rant. I'm not very good at it, but I need the release.

Last Friday I encountered my first complainer. By happenstance this complainer probably cost me a sale since the customer went running after the complaint was lodged. Anyhow, we sold a Miltoniopsis hybrid to a customer 6 weeks ago, and she was complaining that the plant was about to go to the Great Cloud Forest in the Sky. By talking to her, I found out she was giving the plant an ice cube every other week. YES, thats right, "every other week." I mentioned to her that when we sold her the plant, insturctions to the contrary were included. But, "I have a friend who said the instructions were wrong. Orchids don't like much water (paraphrased)."

When I pointed out that she needed to water the plant more frequently, specifically follow the directions given, she got angry and told my I had no idea how to raise orchids.

As some of you may know, my specialty is Cattleyas. I was mentored by both Chadwicks, and now I'm venturing into slipper territory (hence the "dumb" questions I've been accused of). But, besides that, I also know that Milts like more water than 1 ice cube every other week. I also know where those instructions come from (shame on you big box stores).

To end the rant, I implore all of you, the next time you hear the "ice cube trick" dispensed by someone, please correct them. In this economy, us growers, hobby and pros alike, need to band together and make orchids easy for all. Otherwise, we can all enjoy playing "Nearer my God to Thee" as the ship sinks.

Rant over. PLEASE ADD COMMENTS OR YOUR RANTS HERE. It's very therapeutic!

Last edited: