Random idea for the industry

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gcroz

2yr HCC Awarded Stud
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'm not sure if there is anything like this in the country, at least I haven't found one yet: a guild for professional orchid growers and related businesses. It would seem that with the changing market, pushing it seems way too many out of business, that it's time for us all to band together. This would give us business and political clout to get through the tough times and benefit mutually during the good times. Sort of a " hang together or hang seperately" type idea.

I don't know, just a random idea. Maybe I haven't had enough coffee yet.

I'm not sure if you already know about it but here in England there is British Orchids Growers Association - http://www.boga.org.uk/index.html I'm just a hobbyist and don't know the ins and outs but it sounds like something similar to what you are proposing so I just wanted to let you know that your idea is not that random :)

sounds like something similar to what you are proposing so I just wanted to let you know that your idea is not that random :)

Thanks for the info. It may not be random elsewhere, but seems to be here. That having been said, there may be a guild here and I just have never heard of it. ?unlikely, but possible.

Interesting idea. I wonder how many would be willing to make the time and commitment to support such an organization. They will wonder how it will benefit them, and where they would get the time and money to support it, I suspect. But there are quite a few on this forum, and it will be interesting to hear what they have to say.

Gcroz, I believe such a group exists. I'm still groggy since I just woke up here in CA. Maybe Jerry Fischer knows how to hook you up. Or you can contact Andy Easton.