Paphiopedilum Rothschilidanum question

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
J

jeroenarends

I have one question.
My name is Jeroen Arends i am a beginner orchid grower from the Netherlands.

I have Paphiopedilum rothschildianum as a small seedling.
In books and on the internet they say is from soil that doesn’t contain lime.
But this site says it’s from ultra basic rock:
http://slipperorchids.info/paphdatasheets/polyantha/rothschildianum/index.html

I thought that lime was the component that caused alkaline soils?

Is there a way I can give my Rothschildianum an alkaline medium without addling lime?

hello Jeroen and welcome,
This Paph needs very bright light and regular fertilizing to grow well, fast.
I'm watering mines with municipal water, pH=7, and add a little slow release fertiliser (such as osmocote) on the top of the pot (once each spring) + organic fertiliser in the water at medium rate. I don't add any lime, calcium is into the water.
Good luck!!:)

The ultra basic rocks originate from basalt, or from eroded basalt and metaomoric rocks derived from basalt. Mt. Kinabalu (source habitat for roth) is one of the volcanoes that the llava flows usually tend to deposits basalt.

Most of us in the USA find that adding a little horticultural grade lime, or crushed oyster shell. For us the crushed oyster shell is easily available at any farm supply feed store. It is used as grit for poultry. It is mild enough in its pH buffering that Paph rothschildianum and its hybrids respond quite well to it. When I use oystershell, I don't think roth really 'notices' that it is not growing on andesite, or any of the other basalts.