Paphiopedilum godefroyae

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Looks beautiful!
How do you grow it?
Any suggestion for potting mix would be good. I can't seem to get it to have more than one growth at a time.

They do tend to open up more when the plant matures. My niveum was ridiculously cupped for the first couple of years but nowadays I think it is looking quite good.

Wow! Amazing! Thanks for showing us. How long have you been growing it?
Thank you. I have been growing this one since April 2020. This is the third time it has bloomed for me, and each time the flower improves a bit. This is a pic of the first time it bloomed. The petals are fuller now; and it is less cupped now, but it is still a bit cuppy.

20210705_135007.jpg

By second thought, Darlene, I find your flower is the epitome of a beautiful godefroyae form - and so much more natural looking than the flatter godefroyaes.

The flatter than flat ones somewhat bring to mind some of the dog races bred ad absurdum as f.ex. pekingeses, where the breeding efforts for flat noses have resulted in severe breathing difficulties and eyes that sometimes pop out of their sockets.

I somehow find it a bit crazy, that very limited aesthetic criterias seem to form the basis for judging - and ruling out such a gorgeous flower as Darlene's to reach the highest echelons of judging. Of course criteria of rounder, larger and darker/stronger colours are so easily understandable, that they can be applied by a bright 3 year old. Why flatness in godefroyae is a trait, that is especially desirable, I can't fathom - as well as why Rothschildianum petals have to be horizontal to count positively in the score? I've seen gorgeous and harmonius Roths, where this was not the case - and thus find the criteria of horizontality a rather arbitrary aesthetic value, akin to a fad of fashion.