New to paphs, sooo many questions!

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
J

jessbullock

Hello all,
I picked up some paph seedlings at the RBG orchid show over the weekend. I have some experience growing phalaenopsis in my fishroom (75-80F, 60-80% humidity, east facing window), watering with tank water (pH about 7.8, moderately hard).

The seedlings I bought:
supardii 'John Junior' x philippinense 'Norman' HCC/AOS
delenatii var dunkel 'John's Black Magic' CHM/AOS x self
Fourman's Pan Tao x henryanum

Okay, the questions..
The room only gets a few hours of sun in the morning, but I do have an extra 24" PC fluorescent fixture with two 65w 6500K bulbs (that are on independent switches). Should I use artificial light on these guys? I have an extra stand that I can use that will put the fixture max. 30" away from the plants.

I'm having a hard time finding out what paphs prefer calcium/other mineral content. Is there an online resource that explains this thoroughly? Should I be using r/o water for these guys? What's the point in using r/o water when using oyster shells, etc to increase mineral content?

I am fortunate that I already have an r/o unit, ph/EC/TDS meter, and related bits for the aquarium hobby that I can use for my budding (har har) orchid habit.

Many thanks!

Yes, more light.
We tried to do a summary of which species need which supplements but I don't think we ever got it comprehensively compiled. Don't know if there is one source for the info. :eek:
We use R.O. water to take out harmfull/non-beneficial chemicals, then add back what we need.
Welcome from NYC! :)