Mexipedium Ph

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
K

keithrs

I was wondering what ph everyone is use to grow them? Do you guys add limestone or oyster shells as a top dressing or use cal nitrate or both? Is it better to have a slightly higher ph medium?

I'm asking because I got a 'Windyhill' from Andy's collection. He couldn't really give me good info on how to care for it. He had it in bark and perlite. I want to put it in a shallow pot with inorganic medium mix.

I have been growing the Oaxaca clone for several years. I think that's the main one that came out of Windy Hill.

It's up to 20+ growths in a 12" pot. The base mix is bark with charcoal, perlite, but with plenty of limestone gravel, regular building sand, and "Cichlid sand" (which is mostly aragonite, a pH buffering sand for aquariums). The pot is also half full of styrofoam peanuts, so the bark mix is only a few inches deep.

I also use calcium nitrate to "dilute" the potassium in the MSU fertilizer I mix.

Actually I fertilize with 1/4 tsp MSU, 1/4 tsp CaNO3, 1/4 tsp of anhydrous MgSO4, all per gallon of very soft water.

I don't use straight RO water any more. I use a 10:1 mix of RO water with my well water and final hardness is between 20-30 mg/L as CaCO3

It likes lots of light and can tolerate high temps pretty well. They need to be watered as well as just about any paph. I think general Cattleya culture would be fine.

If you use the search function on this site you should be able to come up with lots of threads on Mexipedium culture.

Thanks for the info Rick.....:)

Have you measured the ph coming out of your pot? And how about the ph of your irrigation water?