Cyp. parviflorum var parviflorum

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
C

Chuck

This is the largest yellow cyp I have in the garden. It is grown in a pot that normally is sunk into the ground. I moved the pot inside to take photos. The petals are 3.75 inches long and the flower is 5 inches across. Unfortunately it has produced only one new lead each year.

bigboyplant.jpg

bigboyflower.jpg

bigboydetail.jpg

Gawd that's a beautiful orchid. And to think I should be able to grow one in my backyard. Are these cold weather hardy?

Thanks for the comment.

I'm no expert but here is a reply to your question posted by Joe in the threat "My Cyps 2012"
http://www.slippertalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=25734

The question originally Posted by newbud
Great looking cyps Joe...do you think they would grow in Tennessee? I live in the mountains on the Georgia border and would like to start a cyp garden. I have acuales growing there so far but they are indigenous. I know they like cold in the winter and it goes down into the 20's F. here. What do you'all think/

Joe's reply

"I'm sure they'd be fine. As long as you get at least 3 months of winter where temps are at or near freezing, you can grow Cyps. Most species and hybrids grow in USDA zones 2-8, and sometimes even 9."
________

Just judging from what is all growing in the pot - did this plant originate from the wild? Maybe try repotting it and cleaning out all the other 'stuff'. They might be competing for nutrients with your Cyp.

Just judging from what is all growing in the pot - did this plant originate from the wild? Maybe try repotting it and cleaning out all the other 'stuff'. They might be competing for nutrients with your Cyp.