Breeding Minis

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chrismende

Reaction score
I would love to have some more discussion re mini complex breeding trends. I know several folks are working on this, and I'm pretty new to thinking about it, but would really like to know where the sticking points (wide petals? not recurved dorsals?) are and how people are thinking of getting past these.
I'd also love the thread to include photos of successes - I've seen some scattered in other threads, but I think a specific thread about this would be great!

Koopowitz - 'Tropical Slipper Orchids' has a chapter pertaining to this, he did some work in this area when working at Paphanatics.

Koopowitz - 'Tropical Slipper Orchids' has a chapter pertaining to this, he did some work in this area when working at Paphanatics.

I highly recommend you get the book and read that chapter. Dr. Koopowitz also presented essentially the same information in an article for Orchid Digest a few years back.

In his article, Dr. Koopowitz comments that there are two ways to arrive at the destination of miniature complex hybrids: From the top down, starting with a standard complex and reducing its size, or from the bottom up, by selecting small species, crossing and recrossing them.

I have pursued both ways, but cannot say if one is better than the other, yet as I only started in 2004, and my first crosses have just bloomed in the last three years. Thanks for the nice comment, Ernie. Unfortunately, my first hand experience is still limited, and will only be cured by time. The nice thing is I'm already starting second generation hybrids, and have been fortunate to be able to build on other's hybridizing by acquiring quality plants from other sources. Half the fun of producing one's own crosses is shopping for stud plants!