phrag. roots revealed, more to come.

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
J

Jenn4a

Hey everyone, I don't really have any questions per se but I wanted to update on the Phrag. MDC I'm unpotting.

I kept finding Millipedes in his pot, and to move it to my main setup I wanted to make sure nothing else was lurking in the bark. I know millipedes aren't really damaging to the plant directly, but if something crawls out of the pot, I might end up dropping the plant :eek: I don't like bugs where I frequently visit, or touch.

I noticed that there was a very tiny snail, and some rotten roots coming out with the bark. All the healthy roots were not in the middle of the pot, but clinging on the sides. As a beginner I suspect some of these possibilities: bark was getting old, bark isn't coarse enough for aeration, or plant didn't like the bark for some reason. If you might know why, you may inform me if you wish. :) I haven't had him for more than a week, so I bet those roots were long gone before coming home. The roots sitting in .5 cm of water were happy and green tipped, but the ones at the top are dark tipped.

Since the roots are clinging to the pot, I'll just remove all the old bark and bad roots as much as I can. I'll leave him in the pot, and add in some coarse bark (more coarse than previous bark, but not truly coarse), coarse perlite, leca, and some moss at the top. *I have coarse bark, but I broke them into smaller pieces. Since he doesn't seem to mind being damp, I'll water every 2-3 days? I'm not sure how retentive the new mix will be, or what he will appreciate.

I will add on to this post when I unpot Fritz the 2nd.

Old bark media, The mix is wet because I use a spray bottle to remove bark chips.

Millipides eat soft vegetative tissue, just like snails