Paphiopedilum callosum hybrid?

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
L

Lint

Hello,

in the midst of various "Maudiae but not really Maudiae" hybrids in a local garden center, I saw four different looking plants that seemed to be from the same crossing.

I couldn't resist and bought a pot with two plants in it. So what could this be? I'm assuming it's callosum x something. Maybe even a primary hybrid? The four plants all had very similar flowers. If it was a complex cross, there would have been more variability in the flowers, right?
I am new to Paph-growing and orchid genetics, so be gentle. ;-)

Some pictures (click to enlarge):

Plant 1

Plant 2

Both

The other two plants looked pretty much the same, only with slightly more spots on the petals.
I forgot to take a picture of the leaves, but they look like standard bright green Maudiae leaves, only with less contrast between the lighter and darker areas.

appletonianum x urbanianum would be a good place to start

They do look like they are probably sibs, but you'll probably never know the name for sure -- unless you can somehow contact the grower.

How did I miss all these replies? I thought I had subscribed to the thread.
Thank you all for replying!

Paph. hainanense seems to fit as a possible ancestor... especially the sepal on the second plant is bent in just the same way.

As for contacting the grower, I am trying.
I asked the garden center if they could tell me the name of the nursery but they are not allowed to tell me.
However, I have a hunch where they got them and already sent an eMail.

Unfortunately, these big nurseries usually don't have the time to speak to lowly end-consumers so I am not very optimistic.

This is such a shame because I often find very interesting looking hybrids in the middle of some Maudiaes. I even bought two Paph. sukhakulii from a "Maudiae" assortment.