North American native orchids etc.

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

streetmorrisart

Reaction score
I've been back from this trip for awhile now, but have been remiss in not posting some photos here. They were taken in Tobermory, Ontario--specifically, Bruce Peninsula National Park. I've been visiting this incredible place most years since 2000 at the time of year I can catch some of my favorite orchids in bloom.

The rare Cypripedium arietinum (Ram's Head) is my favorite native terrestrial slipper orchid:

arietinum2.jpg

Calypso bulbosa var. americana:

pink%20calypso.jpg

The albiflora form of the latter I was so excited to see for the first time:

White%20Calypso%20bulbosa.jpg

C. parviflorum var. pubescens

Cypripedium%20parviflorum%20pubescens.jpg

Lakeside Daisy (Hymenoxy acaulis var. glabra)

Lakeside%20Daisy.jpg

Gay Wings (Polygala paucifolia)

Polygala%20paucifolia.jpg

Putting the above in a bit of context:

forest.jpg

brucetrailII.jpg

mist%20at%20singing%20sands.jpg

grottoII.jpg

Wow, that is one of those special places and you captured it so well. Too bad the water is so cold, it looks lovely! I miss dearly those little "gay wings" - they are such a shock to see for the first time. You are very fortunate to see both Calypso and C. arietinum at one time (not to mention the white flowered Calypso!). Thanks for the look.