Mealy Bugs (I think) - Please HELP!

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
C

Chris

:(I first noticed the problem when I saw the bottom leaf turning yellow, and when I peeled back the leaves to look in-between, I noticed a white substance that looked like toothpaste. There was a bug - I think it was a bug, it wasn't really moving around much - with white, hairy whiskers.

Please tell me if you agree with the diagnosis and recommendations for treating. I'm new at orchids, and I'm really scared. I need a lot of specific directions. I don't want to lose my plants. Please help me guys (and girls)!

I've included some pictures, but my camera struggled to really get a good close up.

I have about 15 paphs, but this is the only one I've seen a problem on (so far...) Do you recommend that I treat the others as well? Also, is it good advice to repot everything? Again, I'm really at a loss here. If it seems like I'm freaking out, it's because I am. But I know this in the long run will help boost my confidence. Thanks again!

I can't really see from the photo's, but from your description I know its mealies...welcome to the bane of paph growers. There are all kinds of remedies...ranging from really expensive (Enstar) to really cheap (isopropyl rubbing alcohol)...all work, but its a never ending battle. You just have to be vigilant...although I am never vigilant enough. The shorter acting the poison (isopropyl, pyrethrin) the more frequently you have to use it...but longer acting inseciticides can lull you into feeling safe about it...you still have to check..all the time. Take care, Eric

How close are the plants, growing together?
-I had plants put on different ends of the table, and the mealies actually crawled from one to the other (I saw them travelled across the table because it is a black surface)