Lighting question

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
J

Jimsox

I am new to slippers and was wondering what would be the best bulb to put in my t8 fixtures. They're just plain old shop lights, but I think I can use them for now with the right bulbs???? I have two four footers...well actually six, four footers I am going to put on my grow stand that I am going to build this weekend...Easter FUN!!! I am planning on having three shelves, the dimensions will be 48" long by 24" wide by 7 feet tall. No fixed top as I need to have room for the bloom. (i am a rapper)
I will put two shop lights to get a foursome of lights going on each level. I would also ask, what would be the best way to go in the future as a replacement for this light set-up? Please remember the dimensions, as I am trying to make a standard grow tray fit and use it as my base. I also am into Catts and Phals, so I may need two different light out puts for the shelves? This is the first stand I am making. I do have the whole room to grow into, but one rack for now. Please use terms a newbie can understand. If there are specific places you would suggest, please PM me with the names as I need to follow up on them. Thanks for your time reading this, I will figure out a way to post pics of my progress and the completed set up as well. Thanks...Jimi:confused:

A recommend cool white, for the simplist choice of flurescent tube. Some other white tube (I think daylight) give off too much green light of the colour spectrum, which is not useful to the plant, although they appear bright to out eyes.

If you want you may also use some tubes made for plants, although they may be more expensive. If I remember correctly sylvania was the brand I thought was better of the ones I tried.