Hey from Memphis

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
F

fbrem

Hi all, been posting for a while without introducing myself, how rude. Anyway, I'm pretty new to orchiding, in my fourth year now. Got hooked while doing amphibian research in the mountains of western and central Panama, searched every downed tree branch I came across, lots of Stelis. As of now I grow about 50 spp. and 20 hybrids, all outdoors in summer and in a wrapped in porch (jungle) in the winter, and some carnivores, mostly in my bog garden. I love variety and can find a reason to keep just about any orchid I can get my hands on. Only a few slippers (Paph. roebellini 'Greenlace x self, Paph. moquettianum, 2 Lowe's Maudiae types, and an nice unknown Cochlo x Brachy cross (Walnut Valley or similar), Paph. Golddollar, Phrag. Grande 'Macrochilum' AM/AOS, and a Phrag. Eric Young that has not grown for 2 years) but I don't have great conditions for most, too darn hot in the summer. Any suggestions for any that can take the heat well, I mean really well. Really like the forum, fun to read and drool over all the awesome plants shown, great work to all involved, keep it up for all of us vicarious orchideers.

Forrest

Last edited by a moderator:
Interesting background, fbrem. You've found out it doesn't take much to get hooked on collecting orchids. You are right at home here.

Welcome Forrest! You're at the right place! Most of the multis take the heat.

Howdy Forrest, come on over and check out my orchids and I'll cook you a steak!

Hi Forrest!

Nice to meat you. :)

I'm in my fourth year too and boy, a lot has changed since I started! Both for me and the plants. I now have conditions too cold, so I understand your conundrum!