Chicagoland Orchid Fest

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
C

Chris

On Sunday I purchased an In-Charm Handel (delenatii x hangianum) seedling which is supposed to form a flower that is "white w/pink & green blush". This is my first time trying to post an image (using imageshack). Hopefully the picture loads properly.

Thanks,
Chris

the pict shows up correctly (rather small; you have the preview button to sheck your post before submitting). Good luck and keep us updated!!! Jean

Nice seedling!!! Thanks for the post! What is this whitish substance on top of the central foliage?

That is a calcium supplement deposit. Oak Hill had very prominent signs posted throughout the greenhouse explaining they fertilize this way to supply micro-nutrients; they must get a lot of questions. Kind of strange, huh?

So Oakhill is selling these seedlings? Isn't P. hangianum illegal in the US, including it's hybrids?
Peter T.

I don't know about paperwork - would you settle for a webpage?

If you follow the Oak Hill link, you'll see my original posting was incorrect as this plant is clearly labeled In-Charm Handel (delenatii x emersonii v. hangianum):

http://www.oakhillgardens.com/htm/orchid_fs_detail.php?prod=2350

The source of this confusion is really the plant tag. There wasn't enough space to type the full name. Since they ran out of room, they had to leave off the part about "emersonii var". See:

Understand? Again, I apologize for the confusion or for misleading anyone.

I see plenty of room to print more on that tag if needed! To me, here's where the confusion lies - don't most consider emersonii & hangianum seperate species? Yes they're closely related but I never considered hangianum to be a variety of emersonii.