Cattleya gaskelliana fma. alba

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Guldal

ST Supporter
Supporting Member
Reaction score
This li'l beau greeted me on my return to work after my holiday. Seen the buds ready to burst, last time I swept past my office to water and feed - and as it's my first time blooming this species, I'm pretty excited. Wonderful, potent, though still fresh, flowery scent:20230816_155339.jpgPlant and flowers in toto:20230816_155422.jpg

Very ni e dark lip!!!!
I like that feature too, Istvan.

The plant might have been a little too much on the dry and maybe also on the hot side, when the flowers opened. I wonder, if more carefull supervision and a wee bit more TLC, when the flowers open next time round, might possibly have a positive effect on the stance of the dorsal?

Last edited:
Lovely flowers, Jens ..... so the C. percivalliana alba 'Anja' would have been superfluous for you last year. Hehe😇 🤣
......The plant might have been a little too much on the dry and maybe also on the hot side, when the flowers opened.......
These were also my thoughts when I saw the photos for the first glance.

Last edited:
Kudos to flowering your first cattleya species!! Not bad!
Thank you, Leslie, for your kind words... I suppose you mean 'classic Cattleya' in the very narrowest meaning of the concept?

As even Chadwick argues with great fervour and very convincingly (online I think), that the classification of Laelia purpurata within Laelia was an error from the beginning, and that this species from the start ought to have been placed within the genus Cattleya (as also some early authors proposed, not to speak of present botanists - and no matter the doubtfull, I save the word 'braindead' for use in further discussion, pollinia-criteria), I count the flowering of this gaskelliana my third classic Catt.! 😉