Can anyone identify these problems?

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
K

kylemartinx

I aquired these orchids about 3 months ago from a friend who couldnt take care of them. I've been trying to nurse them back to health with good results. Each plant has a new leaf coming up and the roots are beginning to grow again. However, being a beginner I'm not too sure what is wrong with each orchid.

The first one here is a paphiopedilum hybrid lunamoth x limelight
it has some brown spots that I'm not sure are a disease or not.
4075981663_5d777cb864_o.jpg

4075981749_8f96e64963_o.jpg

4076734864_913381378d_o.jpg

and this one is a paphiopedilum delenatii. this one has some yellowing of the leaves and the lower leaves are darker and wrinkled.
4076734954_5b39277577_o.jpg

4075981977_cc690be2e4_o.jpg

any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
-Kyle

I'm not sure what the Luna Moth has...but I've seen it enough on my paphs. its disfiguring, but not deadly. The delanatii is a different story. If the yellowing was on the oldest leaf, I'd say pull it off and forget about it. But its on a younger leaf, so I think that needs watching...I'm no expert on paph diseases...they all look like variations on the same thing to me.... but I can (sometimes) tell the difference between fatal diseases and cosmetic ones.....Eric

They are planted in coco-chips. I wonder if the salt was washed out of the chips before potting them up.

I also wonder if they have mite damage -- some of the pitting looks like that.