To Chc Or Not To Chc?

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
D

davidvaldez33

Hello, I would like some members experiences with growing in CHC as opposed to a bark mix. I have been growing my paphs in a mix of CHC and sphagnum for a few years now and they are growing fine, but whenever I repot them I notice that they have very little or no root hairs. I think this might be a problem as paphs roots that I have seen that were grown in bark have thick root hairs. I switched 4 of my plants into a bark mix in clear pots today to see what happens. If you have any advice or some insights, please let me know. Thanks,
David

you might very well hear the complete opposite from other people but I hate CHC. they stay too wet and brake down much faster than bark, turning into mushy chc.. if you do decide to use them make sure to soak in water for a few days prior to leach out any excess salts in them.. i would suggest using a 2:1 bark to perlite mixture (coarse pieces). this will allow the roots to dry out more often and thus you can push the plants along that much faster..

I'm sorta with Pete. It works ok, but stays too wet for us too long during our long, cold winter in Chicago. I suppose we could learn to use it better, but bark does fine for us.

-Ernie

I love it and have all my plants in it at the moment. One thing I will say is that it does affect the growth of a handful of Paphs I have but the rest are unaffected.

Not sure if it's the medium of not though. I have some amazing results overall.

I had a Porthos that loved it, so I added it to my mix. I use a wide renge of materials in my mixes so I'm not really worried about CHC. HP Norton, famous phrag and Phal grower, stopped using it and others here say there's salt problem w/ chc. Search the threads.

Chc

Hello,