K-lite and CHC (Coconut Husk Chips)

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

katzenhai2

Reaction score
Hello,

I use CHC (Coconut Husk Chips) as a substrate for my Paphiopedilum. As I know about the problem with potassium (K) accumulation I wanted to mix my own K-lite fertilizer. I live in Europe and it makes little economic sense to import it. I know about the discussion about CHC, whether good or bad. I've been using it on and off for 10 years.

I have calcium nitrate and magnesium sulphate.

Calcium nitrate:
N : 15,5%
CaO: 26.0%

Epsom salt:
MgO: 16%
S : 13%

My liquid orchid fertilizer has 14-8-7-2 (N-P-K-Mg). There's a calculator on Ray's site but I'm unsure about the units in the calc:
https://firstrays.com/k-lite-knock-off-calculator/

Also some general questions:
1. Can I just add the Ca and Mg to my liquid fertilizer?
2. Have read in German forums that calcium nitrate should not be mixed directly with a fertilizer because it would bind with the phosphate and precipitate as a source of calcium. Therefore calcium nitrate should only be administered alternately with other fertilizers. That would make it impossible to mix it with my liquid fertilizer (to lower the K) !?

Cation "attracted" on medium static negative charge cannot be leached by water alone, but exchanged by other cation in solution.

calcium not suggested to be mixed as concentrate
Ca &P bind at higher(neutral) pH

Last edited:
I use a liquid fertilizer 14-7-8-2 (N-P-K-Ca) from a professional orchid grower. According to the instructions I should put 10ml of this in 1 liter (1,000ml) of water for each watering. However it isn't specified how often.