Dog owners take note! (and cat owners for that matter)

• Thread starter Paph_LdyMacBeth
  • Start date
Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
P

Paph_LdyMacBeth

Hi everyone,
I work as a veterinarian's assistant and I wanted to pass along some warnings to you all, because while I love my job, there are certainly times I would rather not see patients (you'll understand as you read further).

Tonight we operated on a year old dog who had ingested a foreign body...rubber & string, probably from a kids toy. The dog started vomiting over the weekend and came to see us Monday. We did all the standard things and xrays which were shown to be inconclusive (happens some times). Puppy was no longer vomiting, so he went home. Well, today he was back, more xrays that showed a strange gas pattern indicating he needed exploratory surgery.
It was a long sturgery & the dog is in recovery and looks good, but he did loose a part of his bowel to damage cause by the obstruction, so hes at greater risk that he may have complications.

Last week, a 12 (yes 12) year old dog presented with similar symptoms. She had never been known to eat things at home, but had large amounts of tea bags, string, and stuff in her intestine that wasn't coming out without our help. She's doing great! Thank goodness!

Anyway, my message is to just remember to keep things out of our pets way. Although, we'd all love to thing they are rational (myself included) and won't eat things they shouldn't as these cases demonstrate (especially the 12 year old!!!) this isn't always the case. It happens with cats too (hem hem...Phineas my gray tabby ate a syringe stopper)

So take care of your fuzzies because I'm sure your veterinary team would rather not see them in such a situation :)

Christine