Hello from Le Far West!

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello fellow members of slipper talk.

I have for some time enjoyed reading as many posts as I find interesting which is quite a few as of late. I have been growing orchids since 1970 which I dare say is some time ago. I have so many fond memories of driving from Portland, Oregon and visiting the Orchid Nurseries in Washington State such as Orchids Limited and The Beall Orchid Company with my dear friend Aileen Staley. It is amazing how many of us Orchid Growers go full circle as far as what we started growing and where we end up if left to our own devices. I now swoon over dendrobiums of all kinds. I started growing all the usual suspects and now I like DENDROBIUMS? Wow!

Growing Orchids is a journey and one should enjoy the many turns along the way.

I am now a commercial enterprise and love growing and breeding Complex Paphiopedilums, Miltoniopsis and Masdevallias. This most likely gives me away!

Love being a part of a group what loves their orchids!

Theresa Hill
Hillsview Gardens

Hi Theresa, and welcome to the group.

Thanks for jarring my memory with your mention of Orchids Limited and the Beall Co. I also visited both in the 70's before they found the route of the dodo bird. Beall's on Vashon was always a fascinating place to visit and Frank Shride and Gary Baker were so involved with their breeding programs.

I have about 100 mature plants of miltoniopsis seedlings from your listing from a few years ago. Have you made any more recent crosses? I'll never forget your Gold Medal exhibit a few years back that I helped to judge. Amazing!

Bill Z.

Welcome Theresa!

I think I have a couple of complex paphs that originated from Hillsview, via Kimberly in Winnipeg. 'Magic Mountain' is in bud and should open very soon.