will P6668 do?

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm new to growing Paphs and Phrags from seed.

I have been using Sigma P6668 (Phytamax with charcoal and no banana). Will this suffice for Paphs and Phrags? I see on the OSP site that P668 (which I understand is the same as P6668, just from another company) gives a good result. No mention is made as to the concentration of the P668 (for instance, I use half-strength P6668 for Masdevallia with the sugar concentration adjusted to full strength) nor whether coco-nut water was added (I understand coco-nut water is a very important undefined factor in Paph growing mediums). Should coco-nut water be added to the germination medium or only to the replate (if that)?

A friend has sent me some seed of Paph. venustum and Phrag St Ouen and they should arrive by post soon... I'm very excited.

Thanks for any advice you may offer

Hello Heather,

Thanks for the welcome. I'm not one for introductions (at least of myself) so I skipped over the formalities. I've recently had my passion for orchids rekindled and Paphs were my passion in the beginning and am now VERY excited to be sent some seed. I understand that growing Paphs from seed is far from easy and I quite enjoy a challenge.

One thing I forgot to ask, is 10 min in hydrogen peroxide suitable to sterilize Paph and Phrag seed? Or will I have to go the calcium hypochloride route?

Thanks for the welcome.

Hi.

P6668 will work, and work well. I germinate phrags on this mix:

• ½ strength P668
• 5% Pure Pineapple juice
• 5 g/litre sugar

pH 5.5

Choose a pineapple juice that doesn't have any additives (if possible lots have extra vitamin C - which shouldn't hurt). Organic ones usually are pure juice. Strain out any pulp with a coffee filter. You could also experiment with coconut water instead of pineapple.