Why is the unread posts in the top right corner no longer working?

Discussion in 'Talk back!' started by emydura, Apr 10, 2016.

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

  1. Apr 10, 2016 #1

    emydura

    emydura

    emydura

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    6,763
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    When I open up Slippertalk the first thing I would do is click on the link in the top right hand corner which would bring up all the new posts since I last logged on. This hasn't worked for a while for me. It doesn't matter what browser I use or whether I use my computer at home or work, this feature no longer functions properly. Is there a fix for this or is it a problem with the site?

    I'm finding it frustrating as there are so many threads I am missing.
     
  2. Apr 10, 2016 #2

    Linus_Cello

    Linus_Cello

    Linus_Cello

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Washington DC, USA
    Mine is working fine. Did you try clearing your cookies? History?
     
  3. Apr 10, 2016 #3

    PaphMadMan

    PaphMadMan

    PaphMadMan

    phytomanic

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,037
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin USA
    I have the same problem on all devices, all browsers. I gave up on it long ago.
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2016
  4. Apr 10, 2016 #4

    troy

    troy

    troy

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    no hatred!!
    Mine also works good
     
  5. Apr 10, 2016 #5

    Heather

    Heather

    Heather

    Administrator Staff Member Admin Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    10,489
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA. Outside w/ Southeast Exposure
    There are several other threads about this in the Talk Back section which have some suggestions for things to try.
     
  6. Apr 11, 2016 #6

    silence882

    silence882

    silence882

    Lurker ST Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Maryland
    This happens to me as well. If I clear my cache then click the link it works fine.
     
  7. Apr 11, 2016 #7

    tomkalina

    tomkalina

    tomkalina

    Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,607
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Naperville, IL
    I've given up on it as well. Clearing cache works for a short period of time , then the problem reappears.
     
  8. Apr 11, 2016 #8

    Ozpaph

    Ozpaph

    Ozpaph

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    15,017
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    no problems with W10 and google chrome
     
  9. Apr 11, 2016 #9

    PaphMadMan

    PaphMadMan

    PaphMadMan

    phytomanic

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,037
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin USA
    Yes, short time, like once.
     
  10. Apr 11, 2016 #10

    Heather

    Heather

    Heather

    Administrator Staff Member Admin Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    10,489
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA. Outside w/ Southeast Exposure
    I will be checking into what it will take to upgrade the forum software again after the auction.

    Also, Moved this thread to this forum so that all the threads on this topic are in the same place.
     
  11. Apr 11, 2016 #11

    gonewild

    gonewild

    gonewild

    Grower

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5,142
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Puerto Maldonado, Peru
    I have the same problem. But as long as I dont allow any upgrades after Feb1,2016 it functions as normal.
    I dont know what upgarde causes it or if more than one does. So i restored my system to a Jan. date and don't allow Windows, Firefox, Adobe, Java, ect to update their software. As long as I do that I don't have to clear cache or cookies.

    So it seems to me that the problem is in the vBulletin (forum) software not being compatible with the operating systems new upgrades.
     
  12. Apr 11, 2016 #12

    Cat

    Cat

    Cat

    Guest

    I've been doing the same thing. Never had this problem before until then.
     
  13. Apr 11, 2016 #13

    emydura

    emydura

    emydura

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    6,763
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Thanks everyone. Clearing the cookies does fix the problem but like everyone else, I have to do it before each time I go into Slippertalk. Fingers crossed there will be a fix for this bug in the future.
     
  14. Apr 12, 2016 #14

    Heather

    Heather

    Heather

    Administrator Staff Member Admin Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    10,489
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA. Outside w/ Southeast Exposure
    When we encountered this a year ago it was after an Outlook upgrade. :/
     
  15. Aug 3, 2016 #15

    mrhappyrotter

    mrhappyrotter

    mrhappyrotter

    Grand Chupacabra

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    2,336
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Central North Carolina
    I was getting ready to come and post a new thread about this same issue -- glad I looked around first. The problem only started for me recently. Any word on potential fixes? When I visit the site, I've always used the Unread posts to view the new stuff.

    It affects all my desktop computers (tried different OSes and browsers). I don't think that clearing the cookies reliably fixes the issue for me.
     
  16. Aug 3, 2016 #16

    gonewild

    gonewild

    gonewild

    Grower

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5,142
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Puerto Maldonado, Peru
    I only solved the problem by not allowing any software on my computer to upgrade. But that was back then, have not had the problem since. but at some point by not upgrading i expect something else to stop working.
     
  17. Aug 3, 2016 #17

    gonewild

    gonewild

    gonewild

    Grower

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5,142
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Puerto Maldonado, Peru
    Actually I did not solve the problem I just avoided it.
     
  18. Aug 4, 2016 #18

    Heather

    Heather

    Heather

    Administrator Staff Member Admin Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    10,489
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA. Outside w/ Southeast Exposure
    This problem seems to raise it's ugly head whenever MS updates things.
     
  19. Aug 26, 2016 #19

    mrhappyrotter

    mrhappyrotter

    mrhappyrotter

    Grand Chupacabra

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    2,336
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Central North Carolina
    Possibly, but it affects all the browsers and OSes I've tested (mobile/desktop, Android/Windows/Linux, Chrome/Opera/Firefox).

    The problem is getting worse. Now when I click either "New Posts" or the unread posts links, it takes me to a page that says "Sorry - no matches. Please try some different terms."
     
  20. Aug 26, 2016 #20

    Linus_Cello

    Linus_Cello

    Linus_Cello

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Washington DC, USA
    I think I have a similar problem, but it's only on my laptop that uses Windows 10. (iphone and ipad are fine, along with work computer that is not W10)
     

Share This Page



arrow_white