Water test

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
J

Jenn4a

Water TDS test

RO first read: 102 ppm
Tap: 416 ppm
RO second read: 91 ppm
Kroger bottled water: 002 ppm
charcoal RO test: 80 ppm

RO first: The first read wasn't in a rinsed out cup, so it's straight from the dishwasher and dried. Salt and soap from the dishwasher? Obviously the dishwasher is hooked up to the tap and not the RO ;) just to be clear.

RO second: after testing the tap, I rinsed the cup out with RO and then filled the cup to retest the RO. The result from the second reading is probably more accurate.

Bottled water: I was curious, and I bet that the bottled water is 000-001. The RO water before testing the bottled water probably increased the ppm very slightly.

Charcoal RO water test:
Okay so I'm a complete newbie when it comes to water quality. I love doing experiments, hide the plants! :D I cleaned an apple juice plastic 1/2 Gal container, and I filled it 50-60% RO water. I added about 1-2 Tablespoons of charcoal. I may have giving the container 8 oz every couple of days, inconsistently.
NOTE: I used some of this water for my phrag Caudatum and Caudatum hybrid a couple days ago. I added a drop or two of pH down. The pH before adding the pH down was 6.95. The altered pH read 5.9. (The seedlings are in a LECA mix.)
So even though I added pH down, the TDS of the charcoal RO water is slightly less than just the RO water alone after around 8 days of sitting in the container. (This isn't a very good experiment.. Pretty uncontrolled and relaxed. I just found it interesting.)

I know this experiment is "flawed" and isn't precise. Maybe this is interesting in the least?

As far as my RO water alone, do you guys think it is safe? I have a water softener but it looks like the RO is still working, more or less.