Vanda (Neofinetia) in Japan

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KyushuCalanthe

Just call me Tom
Reaction score
Kyushu, Japan; warm temperate/subtropical climate
With everybody posting stuff about this species lately, I thought I'd share a few in my collection this year. I'm pretty rough with my plants, not repotting as much as I should, and letting nature do most of the work. Still, a few look pretty good this year.

Benisuzume - the cute little pink flowered form. I've been growing this plant for 10 years now. Flower count is just so-so, but still a nice display.

BeniFL15.jpg

Tamakongou - this little guy was planted on a tree fern "love swing" a few years back. It is doing pretty well and with time it should get pretty huge. Nice flowering this year despite any significant care on my part.

TamaK15.jpg

Seikai - I've grown this clump for around 8 years now - slow growing variety, but then again most Neos aren't what you'd call "fast". Two flower stalks this year made it to flowering. A must have for the Neo collector.

SekPL15.jpg

SekFL15.jpg

Finally, a wild form of "fuuran" that is mounted on another tree fern love swing. After struggling for the first few years, it is finally flowering pretty well this year.

LRGN15.jpg

More to follow in the next couple weeks. I went to a local Neo show last weekend, so there should be a video out on that soon too - probably August, my downtime at work.

They all look fantastic. Particularly the Sekai the Sekai is my personal favorite. The beni is also putting on quite a show!

I hope to get my neos in that condition at some point. Roots all over the place and healthy.

Beautiful plants, thanks for posting and I look forward to more pics.
I agree about Sekai, it's such a treat to have.