Summer outdoor temps

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RNCollins

Reaction score
Hello!

This will be my first full summer with my Paphs and Phrags. I would like to put them in the screened in porch for the summer. It gets up in the low 90's F during the day and down in the low 60's F at night. Humidity is very low during the day. Will it be too hot for my Orchids?

Here is what I have:

Paphs:

Paph. Pedro's Moon
(Pinocchio '#3' x armeniacum 'G.E.' AM/AOS)

Paph. Hung Sheng Curtisii
(curtisii x Shin-Yi Heart)

Paph. Avalon Pearl
(delenati 'Dumbo' x Avalon Mist 'Tall Dream')

Paph. Hilo Green #3 x Hsinying Yosemite 'Full Moon'

Phrags:

Phrag. lindleyanum x Phrag. Eric Young

Phrag. Grande

Phrag. Emma Lommen
(Fritz Schomburg 'Strawberry Parfait' x fischeri)

I'm a beginner so I'm not sure if I have multi-floral, strap-leafed, mottled leafed, sequential, etc, etc. I just want to make sure it's not too hot for my orchids... If it is I'll just keep them indoors this summers where it is cooler.

Any tips or suggestions would be appreciated!

Thanks!

I think your problem could be the low humidity. If you had temperatures that high associated with high humidity than I think it would be OK. But high temperatures with low humidity is not appreciated by slipper orchids.

you could wet the floor...and the evaporation would cool the area while increasing humidity but the floor would probably dry quickly so you would need some type of constant drip system keeping the floor wet ..individual water trays for each plant is a waste of time (in case you are thinking that).Ideally, enclosing the porch with plastic would work best, with a humidifier

Thanks for all the suggestions. The floor has a thin carpet, so I can't wet the floor.

Currently the humidity is 68%. In the past 24 hours it has been as low as 26% and as high as 83%.