Should i be disappointed

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi everyone. This is my first time blooming rothschildianum. It is one of my favorite flowers but this one I bloomed does not really do it for me. It is about 5" across and I thought they are a bit bigger. Happy growing

Attachments

• 20230328_205627.jpg
    20230328_205627.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 0
  • 20230328_205805.jpg
    20230328_205805.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 0
Is the plant also small?

Some of us with limited space might welcome a breeding line of miniature rothschildianums -- though I think we would desire better form and color.

Congrats on growing and blooming a roth. It is not small achievement. I wish you many more.

Rothschildianum flower size varies greatly, but that is on the extreme side.
I would pass on it and get another or a bunch of new seedlings with higher hope. Usually, this species easily has well over 20cm wide and that's smallish. It has to be at nearly 30cm to be decent.
Best roths have natural spread of well over 30cm and it can reach almost 40cm wide, which I believe is quite rare but very much possible.

Rothschildianum flower size varies greatly, but that is on the extreme side.
I would pass on it and get another or a bunch of new seedlings with higher hope. Usually, this species easily has well over 20cm wide and that's smallish. It has to be at nearly 30cm to be decent.
Best roths have natural spread of well over 30cm and it can reach almost 40cm wide, which I believe is quite rare but very much possible.
What cross has the bigest flowers

I'll let roth experts answer that question.
Whatever the cross, there is bound to be variations among the progenies, and my previous reply sort of touches on that.
I don't think there's one specific cross that will guarantee you anything really.