Phrag. Wossner Supergrande ‘Penn’s View’

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KateL

ST Supporter
Supporting Member
Reaction score
This is my first bloom of a division I got from Woodstream in late 2018. It just unfurled, so the petals should get longer, but I am traveling later in the week and decided to share it now.

FBC7ACCB-141A-46F8-A12C-E9AEE8067424.jpeg
7431F2B2-B47E-44A1-938A-8B34E2757886.jpeg

Dear Kate, that's one very fancy bloom. I have a one that's
Mini Grande 'Fran' that hasn't bloomed so far. It does have a
new growth that seems to be very sloooooow. Is this one a
water hog and lots of light or the reverse?

I am just learning to do a somewhat better job with the long-petaled critters (I hope). They seem to like more light and slightly drier conditions. I have struggled with these so i am quite happy to see this flower.

You live in Hawaii, where do you grow it?? It's beautiful!
Hi Troy,
I’m a back yard grower in Honolulu. I live at about 750 feet above sea level on Pacific Heights (behind Punchbowl). Although I have loved orchids all my adult life, I’ve only recently started growing Phragmipedium. They seem to like the humidity and gentle trade winds.
Most of my orchids are hanging - this is one of my orchid ‘boxes’

Attachments

• 398FBD0C-C032-44F8-B90B-851DDFC0086E.jpeg
    398FBD0C-C032-44F8-B90B-851DDFC0086E.jpeg
    48.7 KB · Views: 33
Last edited:
Thank you,
I grow it , like most of my phrags., in my greenhouse with a humidity of 70-80% in a mix of small and medium Orchiate bark, Charcoal, and medium sponge rock. I water weekly with a 25% Cal-mag fertilize with Voodoo juice added. I am experimenting with adding a small amount of Grodon rock wool 1/4 inch cubes, maybe 10%?

I'd love to hear how the experiment with the
rock wool cubes turns out. I have received
plants from vendors in rock wool and my