Phrag Deflasking - I need help

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
B

Bolero

Hi,

I don't have any experience deflasking Phrags and this is my first try, the flasks weren't cheap so I need some help with them. I have deflasked individually into 50mm pots (2 inch) and there were 3 flasks in total. The sizes are quite varied and as they were quite tossed around they had to be deflasked right away. I have potted them into sphagnum moss and perlite.

Also, I have them outside in the greenhouse which is heated tonight to about 13C. The humidity is quite high and the moss is still quite wet this evening. There is a fan for air movement. The dilemma I have now is that I am tossing up whether to put them inside my home so they are protected from the elements and pests but there is no air movement and it's quite dry in here with perhaps less than 50% humidity. Outside is more ideal but they are young and I am thinking that maybe inside plastic storage boxes like I did with the paphs might also work for phrags.

What do you think? These are the flasks, as you can see one flask did not produce many plants but the other two were ok.

The back trays are Phrag kovachii x schlimii

The front tray is Phrag kovachii x besseae

DSCF3194.jpg

DSCF3195.jpg

DSCF3196.jpg

Thanks for looking

When deflasking, I’m always put a plastic dome over the trays for at least 4 to 6 weeks, to keep the humidity as high as possible around the seedlings. The seedling need to get use of their new environment. In the flask humidity is always available and there is no air movement in there... Air movement can desiderate the new seedlings very fast, they have to be come stronger before to let them like that.