Paph. fowliei culture

Slippertalk Orchid Forum

Help Support Slippertalk Orchid Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ssapha

Reaction score
Hello fellow orchid enthusiasts!

At the beginning of the year I purchased a beautiful little Paph. fowliei v. alba.
So far, it looks like it has been doing well.
After it finished blooming, it got busy on a second growth, which has now 5 leafs and a 6th one on the way. I think it is looking healthy.
I have it under pretty bright light and I let it dry out just slightly between watering. I am not sure what my humidity is though.

I would just like to make sure that I have as much information as possible about this little gem, to keep it as happy as I can. I have some experience growing Phals, Oncidiums and Catts, but not too much with Paphs (indoor culture, under lights).
I have searched this forum for information on this species and have not been too successful with finding much culture information on it.

So, I am hoping that you all might be willing to chip in with some tips and experience ... :poke: :D
Do they prefer very high humidity, bright light or more shaded, a bit of drying out between watering or more on the side of evenly damp, temperature ranges, fertilizer needs ...

As soon as I can, I will post a picture of the plant.

Please share your experience and knowledge, I would greatly appreciate it! :)

Thank you very much!
Margit

Here is a picture (3.5 inch pot) :D

The plant looks happy.
I have had far better luck with my plant with higher humidity (+/-80%)
Less light than my parvis, perhaps twice the distance and very little fertilizer.
I also keep it relatively damp.
hope that helps, by the way, all my plants are grown in enclosures under artificial light. So results will certainly vary.